Topic ClosedFirst guitar advice.

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
rudiment View Drop Down
Band Member
Band Member

Band: Jagermeister presents SIXTYFOUREAST
Industry:Sound & Lighting
Direct Link To This Post Topic: First guitar advice.
    Posted: Oct 09 2010 at 5:55am
My 11 year old wants to learn to play guitar. Two questions:

1. What to purchase ? I am a drummer and sound engineer and have never owned a guitar. What is a good first guitar ? Something I could unload in the event he does not stick with this idea.  

2. Any recommendations for an instructor ? We live in Henderson, so on this side of the river would be preferred but not opposed to getting our passports out and crossing the bridge.Tongue

Thanks.
Sponsored Links

PJ View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Musician: Keyboard-Synth
Direct Link To This Post Posted: Oct 09 2010 at 12:26pm
  If I were you, Id pick up a inexpensive acoustic guitar from a pawn shop or something. Then you can get tons of guitar lesson videos on Youtube. Learn some cool riffs and a bunch of chords and see if you want to go electric latter.
Just shut up and play it!!
Big Toe View Drop Down
Band Member
Band Member

Band: Panacea
Direct Link To This Post Posted: Oct 09 2010 at 2:19pm
  Try a cheap Squire Strat.  I have a Squire "Affinity" series that I bought my daughter when she first started learning. For $149 I was impressed.  Obviously, the electronics and hardware are cheap, but the action is actually better than my real Strat.  I usually keep it on a stand and use it for all my practicing at home. 

I'd go with an electric over an acoustic because it would be so much easier to finger chords.  Plus, you could hook it up to a cheap amp if he wished.